• Reduced price
The Copyrights The LP - Alone In A Dome (Vinyl) $20.91 Vinyl

The Copyrights The LP - Alone In A Dome (Vinyl)

$20.91 Save 50%
Tax excluded
Offer ends in:
999 Items
  • Security policy - Secure Transactions by 256-bit encryption Security policy - Secure Transactions by 256-bit encryption
  • Delivery policy - Leaves Warehouse in 1-2 business days Delivery policy - Leaves Warehouse in 1-2 business days
  • Return policy - 30 Days Free Exchange & Return Policy Return policy - 30 Days Free Exchange & Return Policy

New album from The Copyrights!

It’s been seven years since The Copyrights released their last album, but the wait is finally over! Ahead of the Carbondale, IL punks’ 20th anniversary in 2022, the foursome have returned with their seventh full-length album, Alone in A Dome!
Not that you’d know it was the band’s seventh record – across the course of these 12 songs, the band sounds just as vibrant and vigorous, energetic and youthful, as it ever has. Whether that’s because they recorded most of it in the basement of Carbondale’s Lost Cross punk house, where the band was formed all those years ago, is uncertain, but the spirit of that house, of their youth and of the scene in general, is very much alive and kicking for the record’s half-hour runtime. Alone in A Dome can be seen as a celebration of coming good, of breaking through the barriers of small-town life and into the (punk rock) bigtime. It’s about cherishing the things that last, even though nothing ever actually stays the same. And it’s about paying homage to the places and people that defined and shaped you and holding onto the values that those things instilled in you in a world that’s constantly trying to obliterate them. That’s something perhaps best captured by the final song, “On Division,” a poignant yet buoyant track paying homage to the band’s hometown in which past, present, and future all exist simultaneously.
That’s not the only throwback to their home. Throughout their two decades together, The Copyrights have always peppered their records with references to their origins, and this record is no exception. while these songs are full of the same youthful fervor and emotional catharsis that the band has always offered, they target the head as much as the heart. The opener “Part Of The Landscape” is an infectious rumination on the decline of their hometown, while the first single, “Halos,” is 95 seconds of defiance about not running away from it. “Brush Off” is a perfect broken-hearted lament, and “Tell Molly” dwells on the past with a sense of desperate urgency. It’s a moving, impassioned song ostensibly about (drummer) Luke McNeil’s late dog, but which is written in such a way that it can be applied to other situations. It also hints at a deeper tragedy that permeates the mood of these songs. Ultimately, it all makes this a record that re-solidifies The Copyrights’ status as one of the most exciting bands around today, a band that doesn’t take anything for granted and whose songs are a
raw and real expression of their lives. It might have taken a while to get here, but it was well worth the wait!

For fans of: The Lillingtons, The Methadones, The Ergs!, Chixdiggit!

1. Part of the Landscape
2. Halos
3. Stuck in the Winter
4. Pretender
5. No Dissertation
6. Tell Molly
7. Before Midnight
8. No Such Thing as Grownups
9. That One Week
10. Brush Off
11. Enemies
12. On Division

999 Items
Related Products 8 other products in the same category

New Account Register

Already have an account?
Log in instead Or Reset password